“An Unexpected Journey”

“It’s a dangerous business, Frodo, going out your door. You step onto the road, and if you don’t keep your feet, there’s no knowing where you might be swept off to.”

― J.R.R. TolkienThe Lord of the Rings

    I originally created this blog with the intention of indulging my love of international relations with an outlet. There were grand visions of how my unique insights would enlighten those who thought the machinations of countries were unfathomable. I would unveil secretive attempts to suppress freedom and laud those brave enough to stand for it. Why someone who was so uninterested in international relations, and whether people “over there” were free, would read a blog dedicated to that subject was not important. I was preparing to write my own version of the Great American Novel Blog.

    However, as I looked in vain for the perfect story to launch my soon-to-be famous blogging career, I realized that I could benefit from examining a subject much closer to home – myself. I have come to believe that it is impossible to examine freedom and decision-making on a global scale if I have no understanding of how I personally define freedom and make decisions. Without a firm understanding of the way that I live my life there is no way for me to anticipate what I am likely to encounter tomorrow, much less what may happen in a given country or region. 

    As part of my journey to learn about myself I have begun to read the book Awaken the Giant Within by Anthony Robbins. One of the concepts he talks about early in the book is the prevalence of “The Niagara Syndrome.” This syndrome is eloquently summarized in Bilbo Baggins’ well-known quote at the beginning of this post. Many people, including me, allow themselves to be swept along by the currents of life without really looking at where their current path will take them. They only realize their destination when they see the spray, and hear the roar of the fast approaching waterfall. 

    I recently had the good fortune of surviving a drop off one of these waterfalls, and I’ve decided that I do not enjoy wondering if my little barrel will be able to withstand the force of entering water that is an unknown distance below me. I am determined to keep my feet under me everyday. While this blog is going to be very different that I ever thought it would be, I’d like to invite you to join me on own “unexpected journey.” I am not sure where we will end up, but I know that we will not get there by accident – I have had enough of that for one lifetime.

One thought on ““An Unexpected Journey”

  1. Pingback: Reality | A Search For Freedom

Leave a Reply

